Sugar Skull Girl

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there, you don’t get enough credit for what you do!

Totally unrelated, I finished another painting.  Tawnya and I asked a friend of ours to be the photographer at the wedding for us, and she graciously accepted.  At first we were just going to pay her in beer, but after seeing a painting I had posted on here, she requested a painting as payment instead.  She hasn’t seen it yet, and I really hope she likes it.

I sketched out in pencil a picture of a girl first, then used pen to cross-hatch all the shadows.  The “Makeup” is just paint applied directly on top of the pen sketch.  I may use spray fixative next time on the ink drawing before putting paint on.  The ink got a little smeary, which was fine, just required more work being careful.  I’m a little sad the cross hatching under the paint smudged to just regular shading.

Close-up

It’s pretty small, only 8 x 8, and I’m kind of considering doing paintings for my wedding party as their presents.  But then I think that it’s a totally insane idea with the wedding just barely over 2 weeks away… I don’t know how insane I am yet.

Picture of the picture and the picture

A picture of the painting and picture of a picture of the painting!  Was trying to match up the colors in Picasa.

Leave a Reply

