Hanging snowflakes

Hanging Snowflakes decor

I have been having way too much fun decorating this holiday season.  I’m sure a lot of it has to do with the fact that we’ve moved to a new place that I am just absolutely in love with.  This snowflake display was a fun and easy little project that really makes the room feel happy!  I think I’ll probably end up leaving the twine up for decorating all year round.  You could use it for so many things.  I already plan on putting up Christmas cards once they start arriving.

To make this cute little snowflake hang, you will need:

  • Magazine (or regular paper)
  • Twine
  • Clothes pins
  • Tape
  • Ribbon
  • Scissors
  • (nail and hammer to hang twine)

Stringing the twine is crazy easy, just put two nails in the wall for the twine to hang from.  I gave mine a little slack so it would dip down just a bit.

Then comes my favorite part, making snowflakes!  I like the look of using magazine pages.  It’s fun and whimsical and gives some nice pops of color to white walls.  If you can snag a holiday magazine, even better since you’ll find lots of holiday focused spreads!

Snowflake collage

Here’s a little refresher on snowflake making.  Find the page you want to use and tear it out.  Fold in half one way, then fold in half again so you have a square.  Next, fold diagonally, then fold diagonally again.  Cut off the excess on the top.  If you want to, you can take a sharpie and block out all that you plan on cutting out.  I usually wing it because it’s fun to surprise yourself!  Cut a bunch.  Now for the best part, carefully unfold.  It goes from little tiny piece of paper with funky shapes to an awesome snowflake.  It’s pretty much magic.

Make yourself a bunch of these.  You can never have too many, you’ll find other place to hang them too.  Windows, mirrors, cabinets, etc.

I used some blue ribbon taped to the back of my snowflakes and secured them to the twine with clothes pins.  If you want to get really crazy you could paint your clothes pins or cover them in glitter.  I may still end up doing that…

I don’t know how, but Mustafa got crazy photogenic and happened to be in exactly the right spots at the right times I was taking pictures.

We also have stockings for the first time this year!  Tawnya and I sat down and decorated ours together.  It was pretty disgustingly adorable.

I put some snowflakes on our curtains too.  They look really cool with the light filtering through.  Lex was in the right spot at the right time too.  Weird.

3 comments

  1. Grandpa and Grandma

    Hi,
    This is Grandma and Grandpa. We enjoyed reading about your snowflakes. You sent us
    One last year and we had it on our tree this year.
    Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

