Crochet Belt

Crochet Belt

Why hello there!  Fancy meeting you here.

I’ve got a bunch of stuff to share, but rather than just giving you a huge photo dump of crafts, I’ll break it up over a couple of days.

My most recent finished project is a crochet belt.  I like to crochet, it’s pretty immediate gratification.  I’ve been playing around with it a bunch, trying to figure out how to make lace-like trim.  I haven’t figured that out yet, but I did make a pretty neat belt!

It really wasn’t too difficult to make, and I was even able to adjust the width of the waist on it a bit because I made it too long at first.  I just cut some off and carefully tied off the ends.

Materials:

  • Yarn (I found some string at the dollar store)
  • Crochet hook
  • Needle and thread of similar color
  • Mindless TV as amusing distraction (optional, but helpful)

The belt is essentially made of 5 different pieces: the main bit, two pieces to make more finished looking ends, and two thinner strips for the tie.

The main part is pretty straight forward.  Start off with one row of single stitches, guestimating about how wide your waist is, and then making it a little bit longer than that just to give yourself some leeway.  You can always shorten it if you need to.  The next 4 rows are triple stitches.  Last row is just another single stitch row.  I like how the triple stitches give it such definitive texture.

The two pieces on the ends were made by crocheting 5 rows of single stitches, made just slightly longer than the width of the belt.  I attached these by sewing them on with a needle and thread.

Lastly, the ties.  They were a little bit more complicated, just because there was some subtracting of stitches involved, and I’m not all that confidant I did it right, but it looks okay, so we’ll just go with it.   While I was doing the first row I wove it through the main body of the belt at the same time, so there wasn’t any sewing involved.  It ended up being 5 stitches wide once I finished and it started with 10.

I bought some really pretty yarn and I have a gift card to buy some more once I figure out what I want to make, I’m so excited!  (Thanks Mommy!)

2 comments

  1. Kendra

    Oooh! I’m really liking this belt. Thanks for the instructions. I’m going to try this one out!

    Oh, and you are so cute! I love your dress. It looks perfect with this belt, too. Also love that you found some “string” at the $ store! Hahaha. You sound just like my kind of person! I know I’ll not be able to pass up the dollar store now, without stopping in to try and find some string like this. 😉 I LOVE bargains! Yarn really gets expensive these days. 😉

Leave a Reply

