Father’s Day Mushroom, Leek and Spinach Quiche

My step-dad is such a wonderful, supportive parent and I wanted to make him something for Father’s Day.  I’ve been making a certain quiche for the past couple of months now, making little tweaks here and there, and I thought it would be a pretty tasty present!

I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned this before, but I’m vegetarian so this is a totally meat free recipe, and if I ever post any other recipes they will be too.  Feel free to do whatever you want with your food, though!  You are in charge of your health, and you know what makes you feel good and what doesn’t, so listen to your body.

Whenever I make this at home I make two so I can freeze one for later, it tastes super good reheated which I was sort of surprised about.  For Father’s Day we just ate both right away since I was cooking for the whole family.

Ingredients (for 2 quiches):

  • 2 frozen pie crusts (If you are vegetarian, make sure your pie crusts do not contain lard.  I use Marie Callender’s)
  • 8 oz portobello mushrooms
  • 1 medium leek
  • 5 oz frozen spinach
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 10 eggs
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (Cow’s milk would also work)
  • 1/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cup shredded mixed Italian cheese
  • White wine
  • 3 T Truffle butter (I just happened to have some since my mom and step-dad gave me some, I felt like I was regifting!  Usually I just make it with regular butter)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

1. Preheat oven to 375° F.

2.  Wash and chop mushrooms.

3.  Create slits all around the pie crusts to prevent them from becoming too poofy.

4.   Place crusts in pre-heated oven for about 7 minutes.  This pre-baking helps prevent the crusts from getting soggy.

5.  Heat a skillet over medium heat and add the butter and mushrooms.  It’s going to look like a ton of mushrooms, but they’ll definitely shrink.  I like to cook mine to the point where most of all the yummy mushroom liquid is gone, about 10 minutes.

6.  While the mushrooms are cooking, prepare the rest of you vegetables.  I have a neat trick to share with you about leeks!  (Maybe I saw it on the Food Network or something?)  To slice the leek, cut it first down the center vertically, then slice it into about half inch pieces.  To wash the leek, put it in a bowl with some cool water.  You’ll want to break up the pieces a bit with your fingers.  Because the dirt on the leek is heavier than the pieces, all of the dirt will sink to the bottom and when you are ready for the leek, you can just skim out the pieces from the top.

Also mince your garlic and thaw and dry your spinach.

7.  Are you starting to smell that super awesomescrumptious butter and mushroom yet?  Time to add the garlic and leeks.  Let these cook until the leeks start to become translucent.  If it becomes too dry, add a splash of the white wine that I’m sure you haven’t just been sipping on this whole time.  I like to get the little 4 pack of mini bottles for cooking so that you don’t have to worry about using up a whole bottle before it goes bad.

8.  Add the spinach.  This is going to put some more moisture into the pan, cook it until it starts to get that yummy light golden gunk on the bottom.  Splash in some of the white wine to deglaze.  Go ahead and season your veggies at this point.  Try them out and make sure they taste good!

9.  Put half of your new tastey concoction into each pie crust.  Add a thin layer of each cheese on top.

10.  In a medium bowl, whisk the eggs, milk, and salt and pepper.  Pour half over each pie and top with the last of the cheese, it should be another thin layer.

11.  Cook uncovered for about 15 minutes until it firms up.  Put some tinfoil over the top and put back in the oven for another 30 minutes or so.  This will make sure the tops don’t get too browned.  This is about what it’ll look like when you’ll want to put on some tinfoil:

And it’s time to eat!  I didn’t really have time to take a picture of the totally finished product because I needed to go deliver them to a hungry dad, so you’ll just have to make it yourself to see the magic.

Leave a Reply

