Lamp redo complete! … for now

So much for the natural lighting I was hoping for.  It’s rather overcast (big surprise for Portland!) but I took some pictures anyway.  Here’s the before and after pictures:

Much prettier, no?

If I ever do something like this again, there are a few things I think I would change.  I love the flower that I used as the stencil, but I think I would make them bigger and place them closer together so there’s more showing from one side.  Right now they’re pretty spaced apart so you can only see three at a time at most.  Secondly (and I might still end up doing it) I would try to tie the colors in together a little bit better.  I might paint a layer of that navy blue onto the base.  I’m not totally sure though, because I do like how light the base is right now.  Any thoughts?  Maybe just the round knobby parts where it used to be gold?

Here’s an action shot, to get a better feel for the room with the new lamp to brighten it up!

And BONUS!  Lex jumped in the picture.  Eventually, when I have more money I’m going to attempt to reupholster my couch and chair (probably a long ways off) because they’re pretty fugly.  I think my next project is going to be that bookshelf though!  I’m planning on painting the back and reorganizing it, so stay tuned.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

