Lamp Redo

I’ve been having this great rush of creativity lately, and have been loving browsing through craft blogs.  I’ve always loved making stuff from painting to crafting to building.  It’s about time I start off my own blog!

First post evar!

Without further ado…

Meet my lamp:

It’s not horribly ugly.  But it’s certainly not beautiful either.  I decided it was about time to spice it up.  I’ve had this strange obsession with doing crafts with book pages recently, so I decided to see what I could do with them.  First, I tackled the metal lamp part.  This is what I used:

  • Book page
  • Mod Podge
  • Sponge paint brush
  • Acrylic paint

Step 1:   Nekkify your lamp.  Take off the lamp shade and have a gander at what you’re about to prettify.  Make sure you also wipe down the lamp body really well with a damp cloth to get rid of any dust.

Step 2:  Get your paper chunks ready.  I ripped out the pages, then ripped at all the margins as well to make sure there were no straight edges left, then just tore the pages in quarters to make them more easy to work with.  Now’s the fun part!  Let’s start destroying the lamp!  Use your sponge brush to paint glue on your light post, about as big as your piece of paper that you’re planning on using.  Paint the the piece of paper with glue and apply.  Once applied, brush glue on top of the piece of paper, trying to flatten it as much as possible as well as sealing it at the same time, and continue adding strips of paper until you have your desired area covered.  At first I was only planning on doing the post part and leaving the base silver, but then I figured I’d just go all out and do the whole thing.  I wizened up and put a paper bag under the lamp after a while to try to save my table.

It didn’t turn out too bad, but it looked rather plain still.

I decided to add some color to jazz it up a little.

Step 3:  Throw on some paint!  Mix up whatever color you want to use, and just do a really rough and light dry brush so that most of the print still shows through.

At this point I still wasn’t really sure if I liked it or not.  With the current lamp shade it was really missing the wow factor.  What to do with the lamp shade?

This is how I made the lamp shade.  I used:

  • Painter’s tape
  • Box cutter (I’m sure an actual craft knife would be easier)
  • Cutting board
  • Acrylic paint
  • Brush
  • Wax paper
  • Picture to use as stencil

Step 1:  Pick what you want to use as a stencil to paint your lamp shade with.  Make sure it is something that has thick enough lines to really stand out.  I’m a fan of more organic shapes as opposed to geometric for this kind of stenciling because the paint that manages to get under the stencil isn’t going to look as obvious.  And with a round lamp shade, paint is going to get under it.  Organic shapes are so much more forgiving of this and it’ll just look like it’s part of the picture.

Step 2:  Make your stencil.  I’m sure there is an easier way to do this with contact paper or some such, but I don’t own any.  This is Macgyver style stenciling!  Lay out your wax paper and figure out which side the painter’s tape  is easiest to peel off of and start layering tape on in strips with just enough overlapping to keep the stencil as one piece.  I was able to just put my picture underneath the wax paper and painter’s tape and still see it well enough to start cutting it out.  Once your shape is all cut  out, carefully peel the painter’s tape off, and voila!  A stencil.

Step 3:  Figure out how you want your shapes to be positioned on your lamp shade a smooth your stencil onto your desired spot.  Once the stencil is firmly stuck, carefully paint.  Try to paint from the outside in to keep paint seepage at a minimum.  Remove your stencil once your shape is complete, and make sure you wait for it to completely dry before attempting to stick it to the lamp shade again.  Repeat until you have the desired number of shapes.

As a little extra touch I painted the edging on the top and bottom.  More pictures to be added tomorrow when I have some natural lighting!

Leave a Reply

